Mom’s Squatty Sidekick

July 12, 2007 at 7:41 pm | Posted in General Knitting | 7 Comments

I was thinking about felting a purse yesterday, so I jumped on Ravelry to find a pattern and Remembered the Squatty Sidekick. I first saw this knitted by Ruth, and I really loved hers, and have been wanting to make one ever since. So, I did.

squattysidekickoutside

Cute, huh? I think it turned out Awesome. I originally started it for me, but It turned out a little bit small for me, and Mom really liked it, so I let her have it.

SquattySidekick (1)

Yarn: Cascade 220 Wool. I can never sing the praises of Cascade enough. It’s my favorite all around wool, it comes in a billion colors, and it’s just really great. I had never felted with it before, and I’ll tell you, I’ll never felt with Lamb’s Pride again! Cascade felts perfectly, and quickly too.

Pattern: Amanda’s Squatty Sidekick. For a while this pattern wasn’t available, but now, if you register for the Knitting Daily Newsletter, you can have access to it.

Needles: US Size 10.5 29″ Circular

Button: Vintage from my Great Grandma’s Button Stash.

I’m still in the mood for a felted purse, and since this one went to my mom, I think I’ll try my hand at a Sophie, knit out of Cascade 220, of course!!

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. ooh, love your squatty! i’m glad that the pattern is finally out there somewhere. although, i am STILL waiting to get into ravelry (i think i signed up way too late) =(

  2. You knit faster than greased lightning! =) Very cute purse!

  3. Cutie purse — you might inspire me to make one. As for the Sophie, it was one of my first felted projects and it was great. The pattern is well written and the shape is great. One issue is that the strap streeettcched when the purse was filled so it went from a cutie handbag to a still cute but unexpected shoulder bag. Mine was in hot pink and bright orange! I also love Cascade 220.

  4. You do knit super quick! Very nice purse.

  5. Very nice purse! I am the felting craft gossip editor and if you do many felted projects I can do article. Let me know.
    This is my blog, just started this felting blog.

    http://loulouartfelt.blogspot.com/

    Look over the articles on http://www.craftgossip.com

  6. i love kaity.

  7. […] a Squatty Sidekick. Kaity’s was so cute, I had to have one of my own. […]


Leave a comment

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Blog Stats

    • 207,941 hits
  • Blog at WordPress.com.
    Entries and comments feeds.