Oh My..

August 15, 2007 at 6:12 pm | Posted in General Knitting | 4 Comments

My Grandma recently went on a Weaving Excursion Vacation thingie in New Hampshire (I think that’s where she went…) and she told me that she brought me home some Fur from a couple of Goats that she met. Sweet!

mohair (1)

Holy Guacamole, that is a lot of Fluff. Grandma told me that the goats names are Gilda, Phyllis, Thunder, and Kabob, and I think she said they where mohair goats? I took a picture of it next to my cat, so you could compare sizes, and my Cat is pretty Average sized, I would say.

mohair

I did my best to weight it, and I think it may be about 3 pounds? My weighing method may not have been to accurate. But, it’s a lot.

mohair (2)

The only problem is, I don’t know what to do with it. When I spin, I like to spin from Roving. Nice, long, pre-carded strips of fluff. But this goat fluff isn’t in roving form, its… what do they call it? I dunno, but I like spinning from Roving. Anyone out there know how to card this fluff into roving, or whatever you do? Anyone want to card it for me, I’ll give you half! OR anyone wanna swap something with me for all this fluff? Anyone? It’s really nice stuff, super soft, I’d just like to be able to use it!

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Cool fluff! I have no advice to offer, not a spinner yet, but it looks like really nice fluff =) I hope you figure out how to use it. I bet the ladies at the yarn shop would help you, come to think of it.

  2. Can you either email me and let me know what it looks like out of the bag.. or send me a photo? Is it in a thick roll like a batt or is it just in “chunks” like it came off of the sheep and was washed and stuffed in a bag? Spinning from things like batts is a bit more work than spinning from roving but I really love the texture that it gives the finished yarn.. and I also love spinning locks.
    (by the way.. I’m looking at your blog in Firefox and its a bit wonky.. you may want to take a look at your template. The recent posts and archive list is smushed into the blog post area..)

  3. Hahaha…that’s a lot o’ fluff you have there.😀

  4. That looks nice! I am a new spinner and have been working on carding. Lol, working being the key word! I wonder where in NH gram went? I grew up in NH and VT and most of my family is still there. Enjoy your fluff…watch out. It lookslike kitty may be eyeballing it!


Leave a Reply

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Blog Stats

    • 159,703 hits
  • Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
    Entries and comments feeds.

