Well, I’m home.

July 8, 2007 at 3:58 pm | Posted in Blah Blah Blah, General Knitting | 4 Comments

What a trip it was. I’m home early, and I’ll tell you why!

 On Friday, there was a storm, and I think it was Lightning strikes that made the fire. Anyway, the Mountains behind the town that we have a little vacation house thing in had some wildfires on them.

 

A lot of smoke. As the day went on you could start to see more and more smoke, and than you could see the flames. At night, it looked really scary. We took a little walk to see the fire that night:

Yup, that was right behind the town. The next morning we woke up and things didn’t look too bad. It was very smokey, but other than that, you couldn’t really see anything. So we took a little trip to Lone Pine, which is only about 15 or 16 miles away from the town our House was in (and where the fire was). By the time we got ready to go back home, this highway patrolman blocked off the Highway only a few cars in front of us, and told us we couldn’t get back home. So, Me, my mom, and my 2 cousins where stuck in Lone Pine. Well, as it turned out, They where having Voluntary evacuations of the West side of town (our house was on the east side.) and then, it was mandatory evacuations on the west side and voluntary on the East. So, the family that had made it too the house packed up all our stuff and came to pick us up, and we went home.

The bright side of this crazy day, look who we met at the park while waiting for our family to pick us up:

3 Llamas named Otis, Haydn, and Osama Bin Llama. They where very large, and very cute. We hung out with them for a little while.

So besides the whole wildfire, wondering if our little house is still there, and having to leave early, I had a great time on my Fourth of July. It was flippin’ hot like it always is in the summer, and I had a really fun time hanging out with my family. Good Times. Keep your fingers crossed that the Little town of Independence makes it  the fire!

Knit-wise, I knit on some socks up there. I almost have a finished pair, I’ll show you when I finish them. I also taught my Aunt to make her vary first pair of socks, and she’s doing so well! Yay Barb!

Sign-ups are still open for the Scarf Swap, you have until Wednesday, the 11th to email me and let me know you’re interested! I already have 10 people signed up to swap scarves!

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Wow, quite the adventure for the holiday! Hopefully your little house makes it fine. You got some great pics though if your a scrapbooker!

  2. Osama Bin Llama! I love that, I wish I had a llama with that name, or I just wish I had a llama. Sounds like you had fun!!!

  3. Very scary stuff about the fires. I hope your little house makes it ok. The llamas are SO cute, I love their funny little faces. Glad you enjoyed most of your vacation!

  4. Looks like you’re having a fun and advente filled summer with fires and cute llamas…hope to see your socks soon.


Leave a Reply

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Blog Stats

    • 168,431 hits
  • Blog at WordPress.com.
    Entries and comments feeds.

