Hrm…

June 9, 2007 at 7:40 pm | Posted in General Knitting | 12 Comments

Socks Start

I started these socks yesterday, just because. I didn’t want to do plain ol’ stockinette stitch, and there isn’t much you can do with self striping yarn that doesn’t make it look messy, so I went with 3×1 ribbing. But, now i’m not so sure if I like it or not…

ribbing gaps

You see how the first knit stitch after the purl is gap-y and stretched out? That really bugs me. Do you guys get gaps like that? Does it bug you as much as me? I think I want to rip them out and do a Picot hem, just becuase I’ve never done it. Does a picot hem look okay with self striping yarn? I dunno. Maybe I’ll just sit here and Google it for a little while.

Have a nice weekend!

12 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Check out this post that talks aobut how to fix that saggy knit after the purl:
    http://crossroadknits.blogspot.com/2007/03/cph-friday.html
    January One just posted directions for a mini Monkey sock with a picot hem; nice easy instructions. Check it out and good luck!

  2. I just looked at the 3×1 ribbed socks I just knit, and mine don’t seem to have one, but I knit really really tight and they’ve been washed a few times, so that might be why.

    That’s very pretty yarn, what is it?

  3. I know that’s a common problem. I notice it a bit on my own knitting but I do need glasses so it’s probably worse than I think. I don’t think it would be noticeable on your socks, but I know what it’s like to want things right too. I’m no help at all am I?

    Oh well, I love the yarn!!

  4. Love the socks! (and the pirates hat too!!!:) ) I don’t remember ever using self striped yarn, am dying to try it though! One question ( cause I’ve noticed that you have made a “few” socks), what is (if you have any) your favorite yarn to knit them with?

  5. the yarn is gorgeous. The gaps…happens to be too. I had some gapping in the “cabled newsboy hat,” especially where my needles were seperating stitches, on the dpn’s. I notice it too if my first stitch on a dpn is a purl. I try to divide my stitches with a beginning knit stitch. I just left the gapping and it evened out. Maybe the stitches “settle” or something?๐Ÿ™‚ I do have the same problem with certain knits though.

  6. i get the gaps too but i never knew how to get rid of that. i usually do 2×2 ribbing but someone told me that 1×1 stays up better. i just don’t want to knit 1×1 ribbing. ribbing….has its place let’s say lol.

  7. Yes, please post what type of yarn that is. Those colors rock. They rock enough to completely distract me from the gap issue. I probably never would have noticed.

  8. I’ve given up worry about that problem because I found that after the first wash and block it all tigtens up and looks great. Try it and see. I use the 3×1 rib pattern for my sons socks and it works every time.

    Have a good summer:D

  9. Don’t really like the gappie-knit stitch, but I LOVE THAT YARN!!! What kind is it and where can I eat it, cuz it’s yummy!!!

  10. I love that yarn, what is it?

  11. That gap has turned up in my knitting too. In a one by one rib or on small things I can ignore it, but it makes me crazy in the first row of knit stitches next to a cable (does that make sense?). I recommend checking out the link that Mary left – I found that the combination knitting thing was much easier than I thought it might be and it worked wonders for me! Your sock colors rock๐Ÿ™‚ I like how they show up with the stockinette.

  12. I get the saggy knit as well and it drives me bonkers! I’m glad to see that I’m not the only one with this problem. ๐Ÿ˜‰


Leave a Reply

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Blog Stats

    • 159,703 hits
  • Blog at WordPress.com.
    Entries and comments feeds.

