FO: Wicked

April 19, 2007 at 9:02 pm | Posted in Finished Projects | 11 Comments

Yarn: Plymouth Encore Worsted, 4 skeins in color #54
Needles: US Size 8 32″ Circular and Double Pointed Needles
Pattern: Wicked, from Zephyr Style

Well, Roni, you where right. This took me exactly one week to make. I started it at Knit Night at the yarn store last Thursday and casted off and wove in my ends while babysitting this morning.

Do I Love it? Sadly, no. It’s slightly too big, and I don’t think it’s very flattering. Do I like it? Yeah. Will I wear it? Probably.

This sweater was fun to knit, though. I loved the cable ribbing. I left off the Kangaroo Pocket on the front, and opted for Cable ribbing at the bottom instead of Seed stitch. I mean, if the collar and the sleeves are in the Cable Crossover ribbing, why make the Hem seed stitch? I knit the 40-43″ size.

Now, any ideas for my next sweater?

11 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Well, I know we all have a different idea about fit but I think it looks great on you as is. Since you can knit this so quickly maybe you should make it again with a different color in a smaller size and compare. Or change something else slightly — make the neck lower, a vee, or a square. Or make the sleeves longer or shorter, etc.

  2. Wow, that was incredibly fast! It looks great🙂

  3. I like it! I see what you mean about the fit, could you frog the hem of the sleeves and make 3/4 sleeves? That’d be super cute on you!!! But I like this too, and good color!

  4. Now you know why I knit socks. You can never go wrong with socks and they always look good no matter what!

    But I do think the sweater looks great on you. Are you going to wear it on the cruise whic btw is in 1 week this Sunday!!!!

  5. I can’t tell that it looks too big. I think it’s pretty on you and I love the green color!
    It’s hard to get sweaters just right sometimes, I can’t seem to make one for myself that I’m happy with. So I don’t feel like I’m the person to ask for advice on the next to knit. hee.

    Congrats on your show too! I, sadly, missed it, but I will look for it in reruns. What episode number was it? Maybe I can catch it with the DVR. Sorry! I’m such a bad blog friend.😉

  6. I think it looks pretty darn good. That said, I personally am incredibly picky about how things fit, so I understand where you’re coming from.
    If you want to knit a sweater with long sleeves and everything, you could try a Ribby Cardi. I made one a ways back and it’s a great pattern.

  7. I also think it’s look great as is! More of a cozy fit, maybe? Great for chilly weather like right now!

  8. sweet!! that WAS a fast knit! and it looks great – casual and cute =)

  9. It looks good from here, and besides it’s not like you have loads of time invested in it!! (not trying to minimize your hard work, just to empahsize your bloody speed!!) As far as ideas, how about the CPH? You could join in on our ‘Knitter’s in the Hood’ upcoming photo.

  10. Is it cool enough to wear in summer? I have never used plymouth encore worsted, but it’s still worsted, so it must be thick, no?

  11. Saw you on Knitty Gritty and I just had to tell you you have the best blog name ever! That, and I think your wicked looks great. I used encore worsted to knit a poncho once back in the day. Love the yarn, I bet it works great for wicked, the poncho I knit though, not so much.


Leave a Reply

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Blog Stats

    • 159,703 hits
  • Blog at WordPress.com.
    Entries and comments feeds.

