FO: Forest Canopy Shawl

March 10, 2007 at 5:01 pm | Posted in Finished Projects | 10 Comments

As always, click the pictures to see them full-sized.

I’m in love with this one, I really am. It was so fun to make, the pattern was easy and I memorized it pretty quick, I knit it in one of my most favorite yarns, and it only took me, what? 5 days? It ended up measuring about 54 inces across, perfect. I wanted it to be a little small, so I can wear it like a scarf, because I’m not sure i’d wear it any other way.

I never really thought that I was a shawl person, but if I call it a scarf, than that’s okay. I really love it.

Yarn: Lorna’s Laces Superwash Wool; Sport Weight. 1 skein plus, like, 1/4 of a second skein. This yarn, like I said, is one of my favorites. The colors are perfect, and it blocked really well.

Needles: US Size 8 24″ Circular

Pattern: Forest Canopy Shawl, written by the same Lady as the infamous Branching Out Scarf. This pattern was totally awesome, super easy, easily memorized. I loved it, it was really fun to knit.

Modifications: I didn’t do the fancy pointy edge that the pattern called for, instead, I just added a couple more repeats, then a few rows of garter stitch, then Bound Off. I’m not a fancy-pointy-edge kind of Girl.

And last but not least, there’s nothing cuter than a Cat in a Shawl:

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That is beautiful, and I’m so impressed that your cat sat still wearing the shawl.
    What are you going to do with the rest of the yarn?

  2. Gorgeous!! And wow that was fast. Look at you churning out the lace🙂 You are one multi-talented gal.

  3. Wow.. what a fabulous shawl! I’m not much of a shawl person myself.. but seeing the way that you’re wearing that MIGHT convince me to try lace knitting. Branching Out nearly drove me insane.. but I’m willing to try again.

  4. very nice shawl.It looks great. Love the kitty pic too.🙂

  5. That’s really nice, Kaity. And you’re so fast! It will look lovely on you for the cruise.

  6. That shawl is gorgeous, and you and your cat look *fabulous* in it. hehe.

    -Mia (Miastrosity on Myspace)

  7. Very nice! I never thought I could be a shawl person either until I knit Ella. I’ve thrown it on a couple of times…today to a baby shower and sometimes even with jeans since that’s what I usually have on. It’s a fun feeling when you get used to it.

  8. It’s beautiful! I love it!!!

  9. thanks for the props… the bag is pretty cute, not my style but cute… i found my new favorite thing…. using poster board for making my own patterns… i can make any shape, and size and they are basically reusable… and it looks like you are doing pretty good with your own little sewing enterprise!

    working in a fabric store has really boosted my sewing capabilities because i am constantly surrounded my new things to learn about and try….

    keep on sewing you will definately continue to grow and learn more…

  10. I love your shawl – oh, I mean, your scarf. I’d like to do pointy edging some day, but I’m way too intimidated by it. What if I knit the whole scarf, and screwed up the edge? You did a great job. Quite pretty.


Leave a Reply

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Blog Stats

    • 159,703 hits
  • Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
    Entries and comments feeds.

