FO: Dad’s Fake Isle

January 30, 2007 at 1:23 am | Posted in Finished Projects | 8 Comments

Yarn: Noro Silk Garden, color #8, 1 skein. Lionbrand Wool-Ease, Black, way less that one skein.
Needles: US Size 6 Circular and DPNs
Pattern: Fake Isle Hat
Modifications: I changed up the decreases at the top to make the hat a bit shorter, because my dad doesn’t like his hat’s too long. Instead of knitting 3 plain rounds between the decrease rounds, I only did 2. It turned out really well, I kinda wish I had made the one I made for me like that, but I’m not about to make another. Nope, I’m so happy and relieved to be done. Freedom! 

My dad likes it, he keeps telling me it’s his favorite, so there you go. He has so many hand-knit hats, but he was really holding out for this one. I’m just glad I don’t have to listen to him complain about how cold his head is anymore. Next Up, I’m knitting something non-pressure. Maybe socks for me. I just got done dying some sock yarn with kool-aid. I really want to make another Irish Hiking Scarf, but I will have to go yarn shopping. I think that’s tomorrow’s expedition. I’m thinking about a really bright color of Cascade 220, like I made my last one.

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. WOW, I love the colors of the fake isle. I have really got to try to make one of these hats. I would have to find a nice colored substitute yarn, though. 🙂 Great job on the hat!

  2. I LOVE THAT! I keep seeing all these fake isles that you and your mom are knitting and I keep remembering that I don’t wear hats and that my boyfriend and my brothers like plain hats. Oh well.

    What kind of bright color are you thinking for the scarf?

  3. Looks great! 🙂

  4. o0o That makes me want a fake-isle hat. Not that I don’t have enough hats…but it looks so awesome!

  5. Very nice and yaaaaaayyyy for obligation knitting being done!

  6. *De-lurking*.
    Niiiiice hat, it looks awesome!

  7. I really like the colors you chose…great job!

  8. Wow! It looks fabulous!


Leave a Reply

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Blog Stats

    • 168,431 hits
  • Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
    Entries and comments feeds.

